Soccer News NetBig Apple SoccerLA Soccer NewsChicagoland Soccer NewsDallas Soccer NewsPhilly Soccer NewsNew England Soccer NewsNew England Soccer News HomeD.C. Soccer NewsSunshine Soccer News


November 14, 2012
Cornell’s Haber Player of the Year

PRINCETON, N.J. – Cornell junior forward Daniel Haber was unanimously selected Ivy League Player of the Year after a vote by the League’s eight coaches, the first Big Red to ever earn the award.

So far in 2012, Haber has earned a record five Ivy League Player of the Week awards and scored a League-high 18 goals while leading the Big Red to its first League title since 1995, its first outright championship since 1977 and its first NCAA Tournament appearance since 1996.

Haber leads the League and is third nationally in goals (18) and points (43), both personal-bests. He ranks first in the country in goals per game and points per game and also has a career-high seven assists on the year. Haber continued his stellar play in League play, finishing with an Ivy-best four goals and 10 points. Two of his personal-high five gamewinning goals came in conference action.

Haber was also a unanimous selection to the All-Ivy first team, his second-straight All-Ivy award after being named to the second team in 2011. He is the first unanimous selection for Player of the Year since Dartmouth’s Craig Henderson in 2008. Haber takes home the second postseason League award for Cornell and the first since Richard Stimpson was named Rookie of the Year in 1997.

Princeton freshman Thomas Sanner (Indianapolis) was voted Rookie of the Year to become the ninth Tiger to earn the award and the first since Matt Behncke in 1998. Sanner led his team in points (14) and assists (six) and tied for the team lead with four goals, including three gamewinners.

Sanner led the League’s rookies in points, points per game, goals, assists and assists per game. Overall, he tied for third in assists and assists per game and tied for fourth in points. Sanner is one of four rookies to earn Honorable Mention All-Ivy honors.

Brown and Cornell each placed four players on the first team. Joining Haber for the Big Red was junior Patrick Slogic (Colorado Springs, Colo.) and seniors Rick Pflasterer (Ann Arbor, Mich.) and Tyler Regan (Philadelphia). Slogic and Pflasterer each took home their second-straight first team accolades. For Cornell, it marked the first time it had first team selections in back-to-back years since 2000 (Stimpson) and 2001 (Ted Papadopoulos).

Brown senior Dylan Remick (Inverness, Ill.) earned first team accolades for the third-consecutive season and was a unanimous selection for the second-straight year. After missing most of the 2011 campaign due to injury, senior Thomas McNamara (West Nyack, N.Y.) received his first career first-team All-Ivy accolade, which also marked his third career postseason honor. Senior Eric Robertson (San Antonio) and sophomore Ben Maurey (Downingtown, Pa.) were also named to the first team for the first time of their careers.

Princeton senior Mark Linnville (Boone, N.C.) became the seventh player in League history to earn first team honors four-straight years. He is the third player to accomplish the feat in the past four years, joining Harvard’s Andre Akpan (2006-07-08-09) and Dartmouth’s Lucky Mkosana (2008-09-10-11). Linnville is the second Tiger to accomplish the feat, joining Joe Thieman (1990-91-92-93). He was joined on the first team by senior Matt Sanner (Indianapolis), who was named to the first team for the second-straight year while earning his fourth All-Ivy honor.

Dartmouth also put two on the first team in junior Kevin Dzierzawski (Oakland Twp., Mich.) and sophomore Alex Adelabu (Houston). Adelabu ranked second in the League in points (21) and goals (nine) and was a two-time Player of the Week recipient. Harvard senior Scott Prozeller (Sudbury, Mass.) earned his third-straight All-Ivy accolade after taking home first team honors last season and second team accolades in 2010.

Columbia earned five All-Ivy honors, including senior Quentin Grigsby (Phoenix) and junior David Najem (Clifton, N.J.), who were each named to the second team. Last year’s Rookie of the Year, Penn sophomore Duke Lacroix (New Egypt, N.J.), was also named to the second team, as was Quakers’ senior Travis Cantrell (Downingtown, Pa.). Yale senior goalkeeper Bobby Thalman (Greenwood Village, Colo.), who led the League with 77 saves and ranked 35th nationally with 4.8 saves per game, earned second team honors for the second-straight year.

Brown will join Cornell in the NCAA Tournament, marking the eighth-straight year that the League earned multiple berths. The Bears earned an at-large bid and will face Drexel at 4:00 p.m. on Thursday in Philadelphia. Three hours later, the Big Red will host Syracuse in Ithaca, N.Y.

Contact Us | Help | Advertising Information | Terms of Use |Privacy Policy | Site Map
Sports Vue Interactive
© 2014 Sports Vue Interactive, LLC. All Rights Reserved