Soccer News NetBig Apple SoccerLA Soccer NewsChicagoland Soccer NewsDallas Soccer NewsPhilly Soccer NewsNew England Soccer NewsNew England Soccer News HomeD.C. Soccer NewsSunshine Soccer News


November 28, 2012
BC's Mewis, UConn's Alvaraz and Diouf, Northeastern's Anding make the cut

BC'S Kristen Mewis is a semi- finalist for the MAC Hermann Trophy
BC'S Kristen Mewis is a semi- finalist for the MAC Hermann Trophy
Photo courtesy of BC Sports Information
KANSAS CITY, Kan. - Boston College’s Kristen Mewis, UConn's Carlos Alvarez and Mamadou Doudou Diouf and Northeastern's Don Anding are among the fifteen men and 15 women have been announced as the Missouri Athletic Club’s Hermann Trophy semifinalists.

The MAC Hermann Trophy is the highest individual award in intercollegiate soccer. It is presented annually in January during a banquet at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis.

A native of Hanson, Mass., Mewis had an outstanding season for the Boston College Eagles this past season. She was an All-ACC first team selection and is also on the ballot for the Soccer News Net College Boot.

The Eagles midfielder led the team in scoring (44 points), goals (16) and assists (12) this season. The 16 goals is a career-high, and was the second time a player scored 16 goals in a single season. Her 44 points in a single-season was one point off the program record of 45 points. Mewis became the program’s all-time leading scorer early in the season when she notched her first career hat trick vs. Harvard. In four seasons, Mewis compiled 39 goals, 38 assists for 116 career points. She is the first player in program history to surpass the 100 point plateau.

Alvarez, a senior captain from Los Angeles, Calif., was recently tabbed BIG EAST Midfielder of the Year and has led UConn to the NCAA Quarterfinals for the second consecutive season. Alvarez is looking to close out his senior season with an NCAA Championship to add to an incredible career. A two-time All-BIG EAST First Team selection and the 2009 BIG EAST Rookie of the Year, Alvarez currently ranks No. 3 all-time at UConn with 42 assists and No. 14 all-time with 82 points. He’s recorded seven goals and nine assists for 23 points in 2012, including assists or goals on nine game-winning tallies.

Diouf, a junior forward from Dakar, Senegal, earned a spot on the list with 15 goals and two assists for 32 points. Diouf has notched six game-winning goals in 2012. A First Team All-BIG EAST selection in each of the past two seasons, Diouf has registered 34 goals and five assists in 57 career games, good for .60 goals per game in three years. The BIG EAST Preseason Offensive Player of the Year tallied the game-tying goal against New Mexico in the NCAA Third Round to send the contest into overtime this past weekend.

Anding led Northwestern to their first-ever CAA tournament title and first appearance in the NCAA tournament since 2002. He totaled 35 points (14 goals, six assists), becoming the first Husky since 1994 to notch 30 points in a season (Bjorn Hansen; 32), and was the first NU player since 1999 to have at least 14 goals in a season (Petter Starnas; 16).

Several players from this year’s Watch List were named semifinalists. On the men’s side, Connecticut’s Carlos Alvarez (Los Angeles), Coastal Carolina’s Ashton Bennett (Claredon, Jamaica), Akron’s Scott Caldwell (Braintree, Mass.), Georgetown’s Steve Neumann (New Hope, Pa.), and New Mexico’s Devon Sandoval (Albuquerque, N.M.).

On the women’s side, Watch List players turned semifinalists include Duke’s Natasha Anasi (Arlington, Texas), UCLA’s Zakiya Bywaters (Las Vegas), North Carolina’s Crystal Dunn (Rockville Centre, N.Y.), Florida State’s Ines Jaurena (Charenton-le-Pont, France), BYU’s Lindsi Lisonbee Cutshall (Park City, Utah), Boston College’s Kristen Mewis (Hanson, Mass.), Virginia’s Carolina Miller (Rockville, Md.), Florida’s Erika Tymrak (Bradenton, Fla.), and Penn State’s Maya Hayes (West Orange, N.J.) and Christine Nairn (Arnold, Md.).

The top three vote-getters for each gender will be announced Thursday, Dec. 6. The winner will be announced during the MAC Hermann Trophy banquet in St. Louis on Friday, Jan. 11, 2013.
Mewis has been a preseason Hermann Trophy honoree three straight times. She was named a semifinalist for the first time in her career in 2010.

Contact Us | Help | Advertising Information | Terms of Use |Privacy Policy | Site Map
Sports Vue Interactive
© 2014 Sports Vue Interactive, LLC. All Rights Reserved