Soccer News NetBig Apple SoccerLA Soccer NewsChicagoland Soccer NewsDallas Soccer NewsPhilly Soccer NewsNew England Soccer NewsNew England Soccer News HomeD.C. Soccer NewsSunshine Soccer News


August 13, 2012
New England players on Hermann watch

KANSAS CITY, Kan. -Six men from New England area schools and three women have been named to the Missouri Athletic Club’s Hermann Trophy Watch Lists for 2012.

Connecticut has two players on the list, Carlos Alvarez and Andrew Blake, Providence's Marc Cinrron, Sacred Heart's Marvcello Castro, Fairfield's Johnn Raj and Central Connecticut's Reese Wilson also made the list. In addition, Braintree, Mass native Scott Caldwell who plays for Akron was named to the list.

Forty-two men and 38 women have been identified as players to follow this season.
Hartford placed two women on the list, Erin Quinlan and Kaitllin Alves. They are joined by Boston College's Kristy Mewis.

Each list will be narrowed down by NSCAA members from Division I programs to 15 semifinalists by November 29. Member coaches and fans will then vote for their top three choices and the finalists will be announced December 6. The winners will be announced at the awards’ banquet at the Missouri Athletic Club on Friday, Jan. 11.

Fifty-seven NCAA Division I schools throughout the United States are represented on this year’s Watch Lists. The two groups also include 13 semifinalists from the 2011 MAC Hermann Awards.

Iona leads the men’s Watch List with four players. Connecticut, Coastal Carolina, Memphis, Old Dominion, Furman, Maryland and New Mexico each have two players on the list.

The men’s list also includes four 2011 semifinalists: senior forward Ashton Bennett (Coastal Carolina/Claredon, Jamaica), junior forward Mark Sherrod (Memphis/Knoxville, Tenn.), senior forward Yannick Smith (Old Dominion/Hillsborough, N.J.), and junior forward Gyasi Zardes (CSU Bakersfield/Hawthorne, Calif.).

On the women’s side, there are nine schools with at least two players listed. This year’s list also includes 2011 finalist Maya Hayes (West Orange, N.J.), a junior forward at Penn State.

The other eight 2011 semifinalists include: junior defender Natasha Anasi (Duke/Arlington, Texas), sophomore midfielder Morgan Brian (Virginia/St. Simon’s Island, Ga.), senior goalkeeper Adrianna Franch (Oklahoma State/Salina, Kan.), senior defender Ines Jaurena (Florida State/Charenton Ie Pont, France), junior midfielder Julie Johnston (Santa Clara/Mesa, Ariz.), senior forward Tiffany McCarty (Florida State/Laurel, Md.), junior forward Katie Stengel (Wake Forest/Melbourne, Fla.), and senior midfielder Mallory Schaffer (William & Mary/Allison Park, Pa.).

Contact Us | Help | Advertising Information | Terms of Use |Privacy Policy | Site Map
Sports Vue Interactive
© 2014 Sports Vue Interactive, LLC. All Rights Reserved