Soccer News NetBig Apple SoccerLA Soccer NewsChicagoland Soccer NewsDallas Soccer NewsPhilly Soccer NewsNew England Soccer NewsNew England Soccer News HomeD.C. Soccer NewsSunshine Soccer News


November 15, 2012
Revs make short list for Team Fair Play award

Defender Stephen McCarthy and the rest of the New England Revolution are finalists for Major League Soccer’s Team Fair Play Award.
Defender Stephen McCarthy and the rest of the New England Revolution are finalists for Major League Soccer’s Team Fair Play Award.
Linda Cuttone/Sports Vue Images
NEW YORK – Their woeful season notwithstanding, the New England Revolution made it onto the short list for one Major League Soccer postseason award – the Team Fair Play award - the league announced on Thursday.

The Chicago Fire and Houston Dynamo also are in the running for the Fair Play prize.

Headlining the league’s roster of postseason accolades is the race for MLS MVP, which is between Golden Boot winner Chris Wondolowski, New York Red Bulls DP Thierry Henry and Sporting Kansas City midfield maestro Graham Zusi.

The winner of the Team Fair Play Award will be announced November 19. The remaining award announcements will be made between Nov. 19 and 29, when the MVP selection will be revealed.

Award finalists were determined by votes from national media members and MLS players, technical staffs and front offices. Fair Play nominees were selected by MLS based on objective criteria such as fouls committed, cards received, games & minutes played, as well as subjective evaluation of sportsmanlike behavior. A complete list of award finalists appears below:

Rookie of the Year
Austin Berry (Chicago Fire)
Nick DeLeon (D.C. United)
Darren Mattocks (Vancouver Whitecaps FC)

Individual Fair Play
Ante Jazic (Chivas USA)
Logan Pause (Chicago Fire)
Heath Pearce (New York Red Bulls)

Team Fair Play
Chicago Fire
Houston Dynamo
New England Revolution

Defender of the Year
Victor Bernardez (San Jose Earthquakes)
Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City)
Aurelien Collin (Sporting Kansas City)

MLS W.O.R.K.S. Humanitarian of the Year
Kei Kamara (Sporting Kansas City)
Michael Lahoud (Philadelphia Union)
Chris Seitz (FC Dallas)

Referee of the Year
Silviu Petrescu
Baldomero Toledo
Armando Villarreal

Assistant Referee of the Year
Ian Anderson
Gregory Barkey
Corey Parker

Coach of the Year
Ben Olsen (D.C. United)
Peter Vermes (Sporting Kansas City)
Frank Yallop (San Jose Earthquakes)

Comeback Player of the Year
Alan Gordon (San Jose Earthquakes)
Eddie Johnson (Seattle Sounders FC)
Chris Pontius (D.C. United)

Goalkeeper of the Year
Michael Gspurning (Seattle Sounders FC)
Dan Kennedy (Chivas USA)
Jimmy Nielsen (Sporting Kansas City)

Newcomer of the Year
Victor Bernardez (San Jose Earthquakes)
Michael Gspurning (Seattle Sounders FC)
Federico Higuain (Columbus Crew)

Most Valuable Player
Thierry Henry (New York Red Bulls)
Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)
Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)

Contact Us | Help | Advertising Information | Terms of Use |Privacy Policy | Site Map
Sports Vue Interactive
© 2015 Sports Vue Interactive, LLC. All Rights Reserved